Cards Collection & Sports

All Cards are for sale, mail me:

Dirk Nowitzki was called for a flagrant foul

In the game Dallas Maverick vs Utah Jazz (Mon, Mar 3), he knocked down Kirilenko in the first quarter, but Andrei Kirilenko still able to hit his two free throws before being taken to the hospital for X-rays. The result is Kirilenko injured his right hip. He will miss Friday's game at Phoenix and is doubtful for Saturday's home game against Denver. The NBA suspended Nowitzki for one game Wednesday. The game's result is Jazz 116, Mavericks 110

But why Nowitzki did such thing? Just accident? Maybe you have to read this first.

SALT LAKE CITY/MUNICH, GERMANY (February 8, 2008) – Fédération Internationale de Basketball (FIBA) announced today that Utah Jazz forward Andrei Kirilenko has been named the 2007 Europe Men’s Player of the Year. The 6-9 forward takes home the honor after winning a vote of both fans and a panel of basketball experts, media and coaches from 25 different countries. After leading Russia to a gold medal and garnering MVP honors at EuroBasket 2007, Kirilenko has also helped the Jazz to a strong start in the 2007-08 NBA season. Last year's winner, Dirk Nowitzki finished second while Jose Calderon of EuroBasket silver medalists Spain came in third.

Andrei Kirilenko is a deserving winner of this award," commented FIBA Europe President George Vassilakopoulos. “Very few people expected Russia to win the gold medal this summer and their eventual victory was due in large part to his stellar play.""Andrei is one of the best players in the world and he proved that this summer in Spain," added FIBA Europe Secretary General Nar Zanolin. “Russia has always been a force in European basketball but in a competition like EuroBasket you need more than just talent and he proved his abilities extend beyond his impressive statistics."

Here is the rankings:

1. Andrei Kirilenko, Russia
2. Dirk Nowitzki, Germany
3. Jose Calderon, Spain
4. Tony Parker, France
5. Ramunas Siskauskas, Lithuania
6. Dimitris Diamantidis, Greece
7. Pau Gasol, Spain
8. Andris Biedrins, Latvia
9. Matjaz Smodis, Slovenia
10 Luol Deng, Great Britain
11. J.R. Holden, Russia

Well, what's your opinion? It's all up to you to decide. I will post more about Andrei Kirilenko in my next post.